In Search of the Write Space" is an ongoing author spotlight at MEAGANSPOONER.COM

In Search of the
Write Space:
Beth Revis

featured_template copy

Beth Revis is the author of the NY Times Bestselling Across the Universe series, published by Razorbill/Penguin in the US and available in 17 countries. The first book in the trilogy, Across the Universe, is a “cunningly executed thriller” according to Booklist, and the second book, A Million Suns, was hailed by the LA Times as “a fast-paced, action-packed follow-up.” The final book of the trilogy, Shades of Earth, will be released in early 2013.

A Note From Meg

Welcome to “In Search of the Write Space,” a recurring feature on my blog where authors share pictures of their work spaces, giving us all a little glimpse into their creative lives. I’ve got an amazing line-up of authors to start off the new year, so be sure to check back every week for new contests and galleries of author spaces! And be sure to check out last week’s post from Megan Shepherd for a chance to win her drop-dead amazing debut THE MADMAN’S DAUGHTER!

This week, I’ve got one of my favorite people from the YA writing scene, Beth Revis! Not only are her books pretty much phenomenal, but she’s just totally awesome. We’re like fandom sisters. I require ALL HER STUFF. Especially the stuffed TARDIS. Anyway, I’ll turn the mic over to her before I babble on too long here, but before I go: remember to check down at the end of the post, where you’ll have a chance to win signed copies of her ENTIRE TRILOGY. Yeah, that’s right, guys. Three books. All signed. All of them. Just do it, you’ll thank me later.

The Tour

When my dog, Sirius, isn't claiming the couch, I often draft using my laptop from the corner spot.

A close-up of assorted goodies on my desk: Prince Edward of Narnia to keep me writing, a custom MLP pony to inspire me, a TARDIS that lights up and distracts me, a crocheted octopus to play with when I need a break.

Left

My desk--built by my husband--along with the word-decorate desk chair I just got. I usually use my laptop, not the desktop on the top shelf.

Right

Here's the inset bookshelf right beside my desk--currently full of the different language versions of my books, as well as stacks of books that I'm going to give away when Shades of Earth launches!

This reading nook is on the right-hand side of my desk. It has some of my favorite books (so many that they're TRIPLE stacked) and a chair from my grandmother. Also, the bag hanging on the side was made by the lovely ladies at the AtU fan-site, Secret of the Stars, and holds all the special goodies I've collected during publication.

Another close-up of my desk, which also shows my laptop and the blue-bird timer I use for timed writing sessions.

This bookcase is all in disarray--but holds all my signed books! I collect signed books now, and try to get at least one from every author I know. They're double-stacked right now...I need more bookcases!

Shades of Earth (Across the Universe #3)
by Beth Revis

The final book in the  New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceshipGodspeed behind. They’re ready to start life afresh–to build a home–on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn’t the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed‘s former passengers aren’t alone on this planet. And if they’re going to stay, they’ll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who–or what–else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed–friends, family, life on Earth–will have been for nothing.

FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.


Giveaway!

Thanks to Beth, we've got an amazing giveaway for this post! Enter now to win ALL THREE of the Across the Universe series, including the newly released finale, SHADES OF EARTH. What could be better than that? Well, what if they were SIGNED? Yeah, I thought so! Contest is open to US residents over the age of 13. Use the Rafflecopter form below to enter, and be sure to check out the ways you can get extra entries!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

“In Search of the Write Space” is an ongoing feature at meaganspooner.com that showcases authors through the spaces they carve out for creativity. You can find out more about the feature, and see a list of past guests, by clicking here.

If you or someone you represent would like to participate in “Write Space,” check out my policies and fill out the application form here!

Are you a fan of "In Search of the Write Space"? Subscribe via email and never miss a post!

24 Responses

  1. Tiffany Drew says:

    First, adorable dog! Second, I am totally jealous of this awesome work space! I love the walls, so clean and my favorite color wood. I’m also pretty in love with that word chair! So yea, I’m pretty much in love with all of it and must get my own just like it :)

  2. Vivien says:

    I love the third picture. The inset bookshelf with the different languages. Love that shelf!!

  3. Sam Dailey says:

    I think you’re right…you need more bookshelves. I find myself in the exact same situation. I just feel that you can never have enough books, and I won’t settle until I can have my own version of the Beauty and the Beast library.

  4. Kelley says:

    Wow, look at all those BOOKS! The shelves remind me of mine — WAY too stuffed. :)

  5. Jessica says:

    Adorable dog!

  6. Alex Ray says:

    I need those bookshelves. There is something about inset bookshelves that I just adore.

  7. Hannah says:

    I’m in love with all of the bookcases! This looks like the greatest writing cave ever. Plus, I wish I had all of those signed books!

  8. Denise B says:

    That is an amazing OFFICE! I find it amazing! I loved Shades of Earth! Well both of us did! (https://twitter.com/DBartolucc/status/296046461802659842/photo/1)

  9. Stina B says:

    I am so incredibly jealous of your office. My favorite part of it is all the stuffed bookshelves. The true sign of a book-aholic is the triple stacked bookshelf.

  10. Maithilee K says:

    In general? Well I can’t narrow it down, but one could be V-Jay Day? Its simply a moment frozen in time. It’s beautiful and honest and it’s a defining point of our history.

  11. Kaitlyn says:

    I love all those bookshelves! Wish I had the word chair too, it looks so cool. :) And I love the TARDIS keychain thingy. :D

  12. Danielle Nguyen says:

    Ooh I like all the stacks of foreign editions. So pretty! I bet that must be really interesting as an author to be surprised by how your book looks in so many different languages.

  13. Alex H. says:

    I’m so jealous of Beth’s desk! I wish I had an awesome place like that where I could just relax and write. Plus, ALL of those signed books? AMAZING! Love the triple stacked bookshelf ;)

  14. Alicia Chin says:

    I love the idea of having a little reading nook, seems so cozy and peaceful ~ and I love your word chair is awesome (:

  15. Cassi says:

    Thanks! That’s amazing!!!

  16. Alison says:

    Bookshelves are my downfall! Thanks for posting this. :)

  17. Tammy Sparks says:

    I love all the photos of books…especially the slightly messy shelves! I can totally relate. I love this series you’re doing, Meagan! Thanks for the opportunity to win stuff:)

  18. Nick says:

    Thank you so much for this giveaway! I can’t wait to see the results.

  19. Madison Louise says:

    You’re writing area is so neat! Which mine was that neat. haha

  20. Your writing space looks fabulous!!! I love the bookshelf that sits in the wall, even though the books are stuffed in every inch it looks beautiful! I may do that with my shelf (have them stacked vertically) so I can make more space! My books are all over the house, sitting in random places >.<
    Thanks so much for the chance to win!!

  21. Andrea M. says:

    My favorite pictures are the one with the dog, and the one with the Tardis Plush-toy. Thanks for the chance to win! :)

  22. I love this space! I think I could live there.

Leave a comment